IASR Young Investigator Award

The International Academy of Suicide Research (IASR) was pleased to announce the inauguration of the IASR Young Investigator Awards in 2013.

Two junior investigators (postdoctoral fellows or junior faculty within five years of completion of their PhD or MD) were selected to give an oral presentation of their research at the World Congress on Suicide in Montreal, Quebec, Canada June 10-13, 2013, and received $1500 Cdn toward travel, accommodations, and registration costs for attending the meeting.

2013 IASR Young Investigator Awardees

Yair Jacob Ben-Efraim

Yair Jacob Ben-Efraim, PhD

National Centre for Suicide Research and Prevention of Mental Ill-Health (NASP)
Karolinska Institute, 17177 Stockholm, Sweden

Title of presentation: Gene-environment interactions between HPA axis regulatory genes and stressful life events in suicide Attempts

Edward Andrew Selby

Edward Andrew Selby, PhD

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
New Brunswick, NJ (Flagship Campus)

Title of presentation: Time Varying Prediction of Thoughts of Death and Suicidal Ideation in Adolescents: Weekly Ratings over Six-Month Follow-Up

Chair of the 2013 Mentorship Program

Holly Wilcox, Associate Professor, Johns Hopkins

Holly Wilcox

Dr. Holly Wilcox presenting the 2013 Young Investigator Awards in Montreal.